FSU shield




College to induct new members into 2018 Faculty Hall of Fame

Jan 24, 2018

Faculty HOF 2018Three former College of Business faculty members will be inducted into the Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame at the college’s Faculty & Staff Awards Dinner and Celebration on March 22 in Tallahassee.

Edward McIntyre, Persis Rockwood and Melvin Stith will be recognized for their outstanding academic and/or administrative accomplishments, as well as their significant impact on students, the university and community. During their tenure at the college, the three inductees – each of whom received numerous nominations – were widely loved and respected by students and colleagues, and each made extraordinary contributions to the college and the broader community.

McIntyre joined the accounting faculty in 1970, eventually achieving the rank of Ernst and Young Professor of Accounting before retiring in 2003. He is widely admired for his dedication to his students, his extensive research and his service to the university and the accounting profession.

Rockwood, a professor of marketing and management, joined the faculty in the 1960s, became a full professor in 1973 and retired in 1989. She is considered a trailblazer, with many firsts to her credit, and a champion of faculty diversity. An inspiration to students and faculty colleagues, she is remembered for her steadfast commitment to higher education and her dedication to FSU.

Stith served as chair of the Department of Marketing before being named dean in 1991. He is recognized as a transformational leader and for spearheading the Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship and the Entrepreneurship Bootcamp for Veterans with Disabilities in the college, among other achievements.

“We are delighted to recognize and honor the accomplishments of the many talented and inspiring men and women who have walked the hallways and provided models of excellence for young minds seeking knowledge,” said Mike Pate (BUS ’68), chair of the selection committee and a 2012 inductee into the college’s Alumni Hall of Fame.

The Faculty Hall of Fame is named in honor of Charles A. Rovetta, who served as the second dean of the College of Business from 1953 to 1973. He was an influential and visionary leader responsible for moving the college from a largely secretarial and clerical program to a modern business college, and in 2017 was one of the inaugural inductees of the Faculty Hall of Fame.

In addition to Pate, members of the selection committee included Tim Cole (MAR ’79), alumnus and 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame member; Rhoda Icerman, professor emeritus of accounting; Pamela Coats, professor emeritus of finance; Stacy Sirmans, the Harold and Barbara Chastain Eminent Scholar in Real Estate; and Michael Hartline, dean of the college.

To register to attend the Faculty & Staff Dinner and Celebration and Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, visit bit.ly/2018facultystaffawards, or contact L. Shuntel Fuller by March 15. For further information about the Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame, please contact Marissa Langston, assistant dean for Alumni and Community Engagement.

By Barbara Ash





, 821 Academic Way, Tallahassee, FL 32306-1110
Tel: 850-644-3090 Fax: 850-644-0915

Contact the Webmaster

Copyright © 2018, Florida State University - College of Business, All Rights Reserved. Accredited by AACSB International.