College to honor two beloved faculty members with induction into hall of fame

October 24, 2018

Two former members of the College of Business faculty have been selected for induction into the 2019 Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame on April 4 at a reception and dinner at the Dunlap Champions Club.

Management professor William Anthony, who retired in 2005, and Pamela Coats, who retired from the finance faculty in 2013, will be recognized for their outstanding academic accomplishments, as well as their significant impact on students, the university and the community. During their many years on the faculty, they were widely loved and respected by students and colleagues, and each made extraordinary contributions to the College of Business and Florida State University.

“As we reviewed the many nominations we received, it was clear to all of us on the selection committee how important these faculty members were to their students and fellow faculty members and what a positive influence they had on their professional and personal lives,” said Tim Cole (Marketing ’79), committee chair and a 2012 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee. “We were incredibly impressed by the high caliber of nominees, and even among this select group, Drs. Anthony and Coats stood out. We couldn’t be happier to honor them with induction into the Faculty Hall of Fame.”

Dr. Anthony joined the College of Business faculty in 1970 and served for 45 years before retiring as the Carl DeSantis Professor of Management in 2005. He is believed to have been the longest serving member of the business faculty. He passed away in October and will be inducted posthumously.

Dr. Anthony taught more than 5,000 students at the undergraduate, graduate and doctoral levels and consistently scored high on student evaluations. He made numerous contributions to the College of Business. For instance, he developed the online capstone course for all business majors, founded and directed the Center for Human Resource Management, founded the Carl DeSantis Center for Executive Management Education  and created the College of Business Alumni Advisory Council, now the Board of Governors. He also chaired the Department of Management for three terms over a 12-year period. He published more than 100 manuscripts in top academic journals and more than 20 books during his career, raising the status and visibility of the college across the globe. He was the recipient of numerous honors, including the FSU President’s Continuing Education Award and the MBA Outstanding Professor Award.

Dr. Coats came to FSU in 1978 and was named the Robert C. Earnest Professor of Finance in 2002. She was considered a valued mentor and exemplary teacher for her ability to make finance accessible by connecting principles of finance with sound decision-making. She also was a prolific author, presenting dozens of research papers at professional meetings, published in academic journals and reprinted in books. Coats was the recipient of FSU’s University Distinguished Teaching Professor Award. She previously had received several University Teaching Awards.

The Faculty Hall of Fame was created in 2017 and named in honor of Charles A. Rovetta, who served as the second dean of the College of Business from 1953 to 1973. He was an influential and visionary leader, responsible for moving the college from a largely secretarial and clerical program to one focused on modern business. Rovetta was inducted posthumously into the inaugural Faculty Hall of Fame in 2017. The Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame is modeled after the college’s Alumni Hall of Fame, which was created in 2003 to honor successful graduates.

“Over the years, students and colleagues have expressed their gratitude and deep affection for Drs. Anthony and Coats,” said Michael Hartline, the college’s dean. “The impact these two remarkable professors have had on students has been positive and long-lasting. The Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame is our way of ensuring they receive recognition now and by future generations.”

In addition to Cole, members of the selection committee included Meg Crofton (B.S. Marketing ’74 and MBA ’75), a 2008 Alumni Hall of Fame inductee; Michael Hartline, dean of the college; Joe Icerman, retired accounting professor and former associate dean; Stacy Sirmans, J. Harold & Barbara Chastain Eminent Scholar in Real Estate; and Betty Smith, retired staff member.

For further information about the Charles A. Rovetta Faculty Hall of Fame, visit our website at or contact Marissa Langston, assistant dean for Alumni and Community Engagement, at