Real Estate Licensing Information

State of Florida Licensing Information

Appraisal Certification
The Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR) has determined students who graduate from Florida State University with a major in real estate have met the state of Florida’s 300-hour educational requirement to become a certified general appraiser. Therefore, graduates of the Florida State Real Estate program have been exempted from the state’s 300-hour classroom education requirement. Because this is the highest level of certification, program graduates have exceeded the educational requirements for all other certification levels.

In addition to the 300-hour education requirement, all candidates seeking to become state certified general appraisers are required to successfully complete the following:

  1. take a 15-hour course on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) taught by an AQB-qualified instructor
  2. take a 3-hour Roles and Rules for Supervisors/Trainees course
  3. complete 3,000 hours of appraisal experience as defined by the DBPR
  4. sit for the state's certified general appraiser examination

To learn more about the state's requirements, visit the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation’s Division of Real Estate website.

Sales and Broker Licensure in Florida
Graduates of real estate degree program have satisfied the pre-license and post-license educational requirement for a real estate sales associate and broker as set forth in Section 475.17(6), Florida Statutes, and Chapter 61J2-3.008(9), Florida Administrative Code. Students completing REE 3043 and REE 4433 are eligible to take the sales associate exam. Students completing the major are eligible to take the broker exam.

To learn more about the licensing process in Florida, visit the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation’s Division of Real Estate website.

Mortgage Brokerage and Mortgage Lending Licensure in Florida
For information on the licensing process for mortgage brokers and mortgage lenders in the state of Florida, visit the Florida Office of Financial Regulation’s Division of Consumer Finance website.

title-inside title-centered
2